MORE ON YOGA

August 30, 2014 § 4 Comments

il_570xN.681665330_al50

make your own meditating monkey. Because, well, why not.

Recently, I’ve been making more time for yoga. I’m not sure how many times I have come to the conclusion that, of all the things to abandon when my life gets busy or stressful or overwhelming, yoga should NOT be one of them. Life right now is a series of studies and people and events and projects and change, and whilst I love engaging in ALL THE THINGS, it is simultaneously exhausting. I am skilled at making myself so busy that I am at risk of losing track of my own head, and the past couple of weeks have been no exception. We live in a culture where exclaiming, “gosh, but I am so busy!!” is a marker of success of sorts. I know I am guilty of thinking this very thing. But in reality, spreading ourselves so thinly that at best we’re doing a mediocre job at 100 things and at worst, burning out, is about as productive as doing fuck all in the first place.

Yoga keeps me grounded and reminds me of my limits. It is the reliable friend; the kind and firm voice in my head that tells me to breathe, listen, STOP. Also, my returning to yoga as a daily practice has meant finding a great range of interwebby things related to it, which I’d like to share with you:

Raechel wrote a great guest piece recently on this blog on the relationship between yoga and feminism.

I find practising yoga at home a lot easier when a tutor of sorts is guiding me. Naturally, YouTube is my go-to place for yoga gurus! My new favourite channel is Yoga with Adriene – I’ll admit it’s the aesthetics that got me (I’m a sucker for pretty fonts and colours), but Adriene is also lovely and has a great energy about her. Most helpfully, she has a knack for bringing attention to ways we might be compromising our yoga practice in exactly the moments I realise I’m doing that very thing (e.g. clenching my jaw, collapsing in on one side etc).

I really loved this four-part series titled ‘Yoga and Diversity:’ a documentary that highlights how important it is for yoga to be inclusive of everyone and everybody. In the western world, yoga has been co-opted by a largely white, female, cisgendered and slim community, which has in many ways made it difficult for people outside of these labels to access yoga. But there are so many wonderful people out there doing work that aims to change this!

Is yoga something you try and incorporate into your life?

§ 4 Responses to MORE ON YOGA

  • raechel says:

    Love this! I struggle with distancing myself from the “busy as a marker of success” culture. But I’m fortunate that one of the things I’m “busy” with is teaching and taking yoga! Thank you for sharing my article, and thanks for linking to the Yoga & Deivrsity series…I hadn’t seen it yet!

  • a says:

    I hear you on the culture of busy. I don’t practice yoga myself, but I do find that when I’m feeling frantic and on the verge of either mediocrity or burn out, taking the time to do something that is deliberately grounding is absolutely key. I am in court reasonably infrequently these days, but I first learned the power of a breathing exercise for calmness and grounding myself when I was appearing regularly (four to five times a week) and worried about drowning in the pressure of it all. Still use ’em today.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading MORE ON YOGA at Apples & Anarchy.

meta

