ON BREAKFAST, BLENDERS AND BILLS

January 14, 2014 § 5 Comments

For the 3 weeks that I was at my parents house, breakfast consisted firstly of handfuls of pills and tea (I had arrived home with a fever; my muscles aching, and my nose producing more snot than anyone would think is humanely possible), and then chocolate (I was slow to regain my appetite, but quick to accept that I could make room for chocolate. Because, you know, it’s chocolate). And then, because it was Christmas time, and we had guests, and because my parents can be generally great people, the table was laid many a morning with hot, buttery croissants, which I lathered in raspberry jam and then ate in glorious, sticky oblivion.

I have since come back to my flat in Auckland city, and with that, the desire to have healthful breakfasts has returned. This is not, I would like to add, part of a new year resolution: I share Rose’s sentiments ’bout crafting being the only legit resolution peeps should be making (i.e. I WILL finish my paper mache giraffe in the next 2 months). But my body is craving healthful foods again, and I’m always happy to oblige. So, re-enter the breakfast smoothie. Is there anything better? It’s super easy, nourishing, and uses minimal equipment. Speaking of, when I first got into this healthy eating dealio, I was a little overwhelmed with the amount of stuff I supposedly needed to get on board this wellness wagon: Vitamixes, dehydrators, spiralizers, juicers, and other various whatsits and thingymabobs, all of which meant I’d have to trade in my vital organs, given my (relative) lack of money (thank you, grad school).

Dudes, it’s been a little under 2 years since I’ve been getting excited about kale and almond milk, but what I have learned is that you don’t need All The Things to start this journey. I bought a second-hand $20 blender from trademe (NZ’s ebay) and a $10 juicer from a garage sale: they’re still working, and they do the job. When I browse the beautiful health foodie blogosphere, sometimes I get a little sad that foodies almost compete with one another… who has the best whozit, who’s eating This Rare Super Awesome Ultimate Tree Nut from Neverheardofland. Which is kinda silly, no? Enough with the rambling though: the point of this post is mostly just to say, I like smoothies, especially at breakfast time. And here’s a “recipe” for one. Enjoy! x

STRAWBERRY

§ 5 Responses to ON BREAKFAST, BLENDERS AND BILLS

  • Oh la la! I resolve to drink that smoothie… and also sculpt a life-size replica of my cat out of bottle caps. XO

  • Mimi says:

    You are so right – it should be less about “who’s eating This Rare Super Awesome Ultimate Tree Nut from Neverheardofland” but more about “don’t worry, just use what you have or can get, and see how it goes”! I get demotivated by fancy food blogs sometimes, because I think “oh well, that looks great, but you probably have to have that-n-that equiment or ingredient”, and then I end up not even trying. Reading this blog really inspired me to GO FOR IT and finally make selfmade peanut butter and granola. It worked out well, it’s healthy, environmentally friendy and it wasn’t complicated at all. So thanks!! 🙂

  • fairy pins says:

    Hey would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re working with?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different browsers and I must say this blog loads
    a lot faster then most. Can you suggest a good
    web hosting provider at a honest price? Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading ON BREAKFAST, BLENDERS AND BILLS at Apples & Anarchy.

meta

