RAW BEETROOT CHOCOLATE MUDCAKE

October 19, 2013 § 14 Comments

My mission is to educate and inspire, enhancing people’s health and happiness, igniting a ripple effect that transforms the world. – Dr Libby Weaver

Hmm, I’m not so sure that preaching to the wealthy middle classes about superfoods only they can afford will ‘transform the world’ Libby. Banging on about needing to eat more chia seeds and flax seed oil is hardly going to do much to alleviate this situation… EYE ROLL. I mean, I love this healthy eating, healthy living stuff. I’m all over that shiz – much like this kitten is all over that milk (I feel ya buddy):

But this self-entitled, I’m-going-to-change-the-world-by-telling-people-they-just-have-to-down-some-spirulina-and-go-to-bed-earlier crap really grinds my gears. As this lovely lady once said, “you can’t medidate yourself out of poverty!” This is not the first time I’ve made mention of my frustration with the largely a-political stance of the health-and-wellness world (see here), but every now and again, I feel the need to reiterate the point. /minor rant over, moving on./

Despite the above grumble, I did enjoy fawning over the glossy pages of Libby Weaver’s book, ‘The Real Food Chef,’ which I’ve borrowed from my parents. Many of the recipes are very similar to ones I’ve already come across in the beautiful land that is the foodie blog-o-sphere, but I bookmarked a few that sound new to me and I’d like to have a go at making (if I do, I’ll be sure to write about them here!): apple salad with sweet and sour dressing; omega oil chocolate sauce; cashew nut hot chocolate.

But one recipe in particular stood out as one I wanted to try straight away: a raw version of beetroot chocolate cake. And friends, this was a GOOD decision. The cake turned out all kinds of awesome.

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 5.51.45 PM

Beetroot Chocolate Mud Cake – adapted from a recipe by Dr Libby Weaver, from the book ‘The Real Food Chef’

Ingredients

For the cake mixture:

2 cups brazil nuts

4 fresh medjool dates, pitted and coarsely chopped

1/2 cup currants (I used dried cranberries instead, because I’m a rebel)

1/4 cup maple syrup

3 medium beets, peeled and grated

2 cups desiccated coconut (I only used 1 cup, because the parentals aren’t fans of coconut)

1/2 cup cacao powder

2 tbspn psyllium husks, ground (I forgot to add this… oops)

For the icing:

100g cacao butter

1 cup raw cashew nuts

1/2 cup cacao powder

1/2 cup maple syrup

1 tspn lemon juice

1 tspn tamari

Method

For the cake:

Throw everything except the grated beetroot in the food processor and blend like hell (or as Libby says, “until the ingredients are well combined and finely textured”)

In a large bowl, combine the beetroot with the cake mixture

Line a cake tin with baking paper and spread the batter evenly over the bottom. Refrigerate for about 15 minutes, or until it is firm to touch.

For the icing:

Melt the cacao butter, then throw everything in the blender. Blend ’til smooth, then spoon over the cake and refrigerate for ~15minutes.

Make love to the eat the cake. Enjoy!

Tagged: , ,

§ 14 Responses to RAW BEETROOT CHOCOLATE MUDCAKE

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading RAW BEETROOT CHOCOLATE MUDCAKE at Apples & Anarchy.

meta

