A SMOOTHIE FOR THE LONELY HEARTS

This blog is not one I intend to make into a place where I share overly personal information. But where the power of kind words from good hearted strangers – and those bloggers I don’t consider so much to be strangers as friends – can and do make this world a little bit happier, I thought I’d at least share this: I’m currently mending a broken heart, and you know what (you probably do)? IT SUCKS BALLS. It’s a strange thing to find yourself listening to the collective songs of a hundred broken hearted souls, and find meaning in them again beyond the pretty tune or a good lyric. Fiona Apple, you get me. And as Desree so wisely put it, “Life, oh life, oh life, oh life! Doo doo doo doo.” It goes on.

My appetite went out the window for a little bit, but luckily for me, I’m clued in on the way of the smoothie (i.e. nutritious pulp that’s easy to swallow, in spite of the lump in your throat… #holdme). So amidst my little melodrama, I thought I’d share my favourite smoothie recipe (and because I’m an artist, I drew the recipe for you in paint. Yeah.).

smoothie

11 thoughts on “A SMOOTHIE FOR THE LONELY HEARTS”

  1. Yum! This is delicious no matter if you are heart broken or super happy! I love the recipe, especially the maca powder. I’m a huge fan of that!!! Bon appetit!

  2. Broken hearts are bollocks. Kiwifruit and mint sound like just the thing (this smoothie sounds amazing, btw). I too raise my smoothie glass to you, o virtual interwebby friend! (Also Des’ree: my mother’s fave circa ’97 – love your work!)

    1. “I don’t want to see a ghost, it’s a sight that I fear most, I’d rather have a piece of toast, and watch the evening news.” Exactly.
      Thanks for the kind words Anna : ) xo

  3. Heartbreaks really are the worst. They feel so all-encompassing. Anytime something gigantic like heartbreak–(or the situation I’m in now, which is a mix of a lot of things, some of which I’m not airing on the blog)–hits, it’s really hard to compartmentalize because it feels like it just smothers every moment of your day. I’m glad you’re able to at least down a smoothie, over the lump. Consider yourself long-distanced hugged. And I agree with Rose; on to better things. ❤

    1. Thank you for the hug. And I’m sorry things are a little shaky on your end (and I understand why you wouldn’t want to write about everything on your blog) – consider yourself long-distanced hugged right back xo

Leave a Reply

