ON RUNNING

July 3, 2013 § 7 Comments

[image source]

I have a tenuous relationship with running. There was the honeymoon period last year – that’s when we fell in love. It was a whirlwind romance: I bought new trainers at the beginning of the year, and that same day, I pounded the pavement; my heart felt alive, and my body ached in a good way when afterwards I collapsed in a sweaty, happy heap on the couch.

And then running hurt me. “Plantar fasciitis.” I couldn’t run for 6 weeks, and it broke my heart.

I returned, but things were changed. Could I trust running not to hurt me again?

As it turned out, no. Because it did – my shins, and then my hips. But it was my fault too – I pushed too hard, expected too much, too soon. It takes two to tango, right?

Our relationship is very casual now – I run occasionally, and most often on a treadmill at the gym. But I want it to be more than that, mean more to me than that.

So I’m making a commitment to running outside, 3 times a week, starting this week.

I’m not expecting the world, but a half-marathon somewhere along the line would be nice. I’ll keep you updated.

§ 7 Responses to ON RUNNING

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading ON RUNNING at Apples & Anarchy.

meta

