Black forest, chocolate and nut butter truffles (vegan, gluten-free, sugar-free)

Image

I promised I’d post a recipe for black forest, chocolate and nut butter truffles this week, and here it is! Moral of the story: you can count on me, peeps 😉

So now say hello to these, as Nigela would say, lovely jubblies. I was inspired to make them because, well, it’s an excuse to make chocolate. And when is it not a good time to make something chocolate related? (If you don’t like chocolate, then a) are you ok? b) watch this). I won’t say much more, since my exam is looming and my books are eyeing me disapprovingly (though if books could eat chocolate, they’d appreciate that I’m sharing this recipe with you). So, without further ado:

Black forest, chocolate and nut butter truffles

(Makes 4 truffles – double, quadruple or octuple the amounts as you please!)

Ingredients

1/3 Cup melted coconut oil

1/3 Cup cacao powder + a tablespoon for coating

1/3 Cup frozen berries

2-3 tablespoons of maple syrup (check for sweetness and add more if desired)

2 large tablespoons of (crunchy) peanut butter (or nut butter of your choice)

Pinch of (himalayan or sea) salt

Method

Defrost the berries in the microwave.

Stir all the ingredients together vigorously.

Pop the mixture into the fridge for an hour or so, until it’s firm enough to mold into balls. Once set, use a spoon to scoop out the mixture, and roll it in between your palms to create the truffle balls.

Coat the balls in cacao powder.

Eat all the truffles share the truffles with your friends. You’ll get lots of brownie points for sure. x

Image

10 thoughts on “Black forest, chocolate and nut butter truffles (vegan, gluten-free, sugar-free)”

    1. Yes, I’d recommend tripling it – the four I made disappeared VERY fast! I would have liked more…

      And yes, coconut oil is fab! In my food, on my skin – I have big love for the stuff : )

      1. Me too! My husband thinks I’m totally weird for using coconut oil as a whole-body moisturizer, but he just doesn’t get it. Now that I’ve seen the light, coconut oil and I are buddies for life!

Leave a Reply

