Devilish, Polish eggs

DSC_0419DSC_0417

I have an on going on-again-off-again relationship with eggs. Months can go by without my so much as wanting to touch one, and then the next week I’ll be all “ooh, eggs! Gimme gimme!” I’m a big believer in intuitive eating, so I’m happy to go along with my body’s variable feelings towards them. Recently, I have been staying with a few of my polish relatives, and eggs are a big thing for the Poles. Scrambled, fried, stuffed, in quiches or with salad – you name it, they’ve got it down. So of course there have been a lot of eggs for breakfasts, lunches and dinners whilst I’ve been here, and luckily, I’m on amiable terms with eggs at the moment (I had poached eggs with grilled tomatoes for lunch today – mmm).

DSC_0423 DSC_0420 DSC_0422

For Easter, my auntie made ‘jajka faszerowane,’ which is really just the Polish version of devilled eggs. Only I shouldn’t say ‘just,’ because these devilled eggs are the la-dee-da, show-off-your-skills kind (cutting the boiled egg in half just-so takes some practice!). They make for tasty canapés, and they also look cool, which rates pretty highly in my book. Here’s the recipe, should you fancy some fancy eggs.

Polish Devilled Eggs

Ingredients

8 hard boiled eggs (still in their shell)

1/4 cup sour cream

1 Tbsp finely chopped chives

Oil for frying (I would use coconut oil, but my auntie used butter)

1/4 Cup bread crumbs

Salt and pepper to taste

Method

With a large, sharp knife, carefully cut the hard boiled eggs in half lengthwise. Then, using a spoon, scoop out both the egg white and yolk from the shell and set the shells aside. Mash the whites and yolks with a fork.

Prepare the filling by combining the mashed eggs, sour cream, chives, salt and pepper in a large bowl.

Stuff each shell with an equal amount of filling and press the stuffed egg into a plate of bread crumbs.

Finish by frying the stuffed eggs in oil, bread crumbs side down, until golden brown.

DSC_0441

PS Here are a few eggsellent (I know, I know, but sometimes I can’t help myself!) links:

Leave a Reply

